LSU Health New Orleans

Departments & Centers | Contact | Donate

Administration Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Centers of Excellence
President's Top 5

Every month, Lee Engel, President of the Faculty Assembly, picks the top 5 issues discussed at the Faculty Assembly meeting.


January 7, 2016

1. Letter to support Faculty raises

2. Progress on Y2 Curriculum Renewal

3. Electronic billboards to generate revenue for LSU HSC

4. FA Charity Fundraising

5. Nominations requested for FA Awards

Dean's Quote of the Month

Every month the Faculty Assembly Executive Committee meets with Dean Nelson to discuss issues that are important to LSUHSC-SOM faculty. This month, in a discussion about our efforts to acheiving our collective goals of excellence in patient care and research, Dean Nelson said,


"The opportunity to grow, expand and succeed is greater now than in any time in recent history."

2016 Faculty Assembly Award Winners

2015 Outstanding Mentor

Dr. Sunyoung Kim - Biochemistry

2015 Oustanding Service to the Institution

Dr. Robin English - Pediatrics

2015 Outstanding Service to the Community

Dr. Suresh Alahari - Biochemistry

2015 Outstanding Young Faculty Member

Dr. Scott Edwards - Physiology

2015 Copping Award Winners

Clinical Science Teaching Award

Dr. Dean Lauret - Medicine

Basic Science Teaching Award

Dr. Peter Oliver - Cell Biology & Anatomy

Current Agenda

Next Meeting:

May 5, 2016 : Agenda

Faculty Assembly wants to hear from you

Click here to suggest agenda items

Thinking about promotion?
Need temporary funding to support your research?
Want to read the latest SOM newsletter - The Pulse?


Fall 2015


Dear LSU Health New Orleans School of Medicine Faculty and Visitors:

Welcome to the School of Medicine (SOM) Faculty Assembly website.

The purpose of the Faculty Assembly is to 1) serve as a representative voice of the faculty; 2) provide a means of communication and make recommendations to the Dean; 3) share responsibility towards accomplishing the mission of the LSUHSC-SOM-NO; and 4) maintain a liaison with the Chancellor.  Subsequently, the Assembly aims to strengthen the mission of the School of Medicine by supporting and maintaining excellence in all aspects of medical education, research, and patient care as provided by LSU Health Sciences Center – New Orleans. The Faculty Assembly, per its bylaws, helps to guide LSU Health Sciences Center – New Orleans towards becoming a regional and national leader in the healthcare arena by pursuing a passion for innovative research, outstanding medical education and patient care, and community outreach.

General meetings of the Assembly are open. All faculty are welcome to attend and encouraged to participate in identifying areas of interest to be discussed with the Dean.

Who We Are:

The Faculty Assembly is the elected representative body of the SOM faculty. It is comprised of 24 Delegates from the clinical departments and 12 from the basic science departments. 1 delegate must be from Baton Rouge and 1 must be from Lafayette. The term is 3 years (each year 1/3 of the delegates’ terms end). Delegates from the Faculty Assembly (FA) serve on all SOM standing committees and work closely with the Dean. The FA Executive Board meets with the Dean each month for candid exchanges of ideas and discussion of faculty issues. The Assembly has two voting members on Administrative Council. Delegates also represent the SOM on the Faculty Senate and constitute 8 of the 31 Senators.

The Assembly delegate list can be found on this website under “Roster”.

When We Meet:

The Assembly is governed by Bylaws and meets the first Thursday of every month except July. The Bylaws, meeting dates and approved minutes are posted on this website.

The Faculty Assembly worked on or participated in the following during 2014-2015:

  • Revisions to the Bylaws to increase faculty representation on the Assembly through the election process
  • SOM curriculum renewal
  • Improving communication between the Assembly and the clinical / basic science departments
  • Discussions on the effects of the hospital management transition to our faculty
  • Monitoring the progress of construction and opening of the new University Medical Center
  • Presentation of Faculty Assembly Awards and recognition of faculty achievements at the First Annual Dean’s Reception in Spring 2015
  • Collaborating with the Faculty Senate on recycling and salary compression.

The Faculty Assembly will address the following in 2015-2016:

  • Growth and development of LSU Health services at the new University Medical Center
  • Campus construction and facilities improvements
  • Campus safety
  • Website and Faculty Assembly roster update
  • Fostering communication among departments within the School of Medicine
  • Solicitation of  nominations and selection of recipients for SOM Faculty Assembly awards

As in previous years, we recognized outstanding faculty at our school through the Faculty Assembly Awards for Outstanding Service to the Institution, Outstanding Service to the Community, Outstanding Accomplishment by a Young Faculty Member, and Outstanding Mentor. This year's winners are pictured below and listed to the left.

We are proud to serve the SOM faculty as their voice to the administration and welcome participation by all faculty members.  We hope to hear from you about your ideas.  Please continue to visit this webpage for updates on the Assembly’s work.


Lee Engel MD, PhD, FACP

President, Faculty Assembly 2015-2016
Department of Internal Medicine Section of Hospitalist Medicine
School of Medicine
LSU Health