Emergency Medicine Interest Group

Mission Statement
To provide opportunities and clinically relevant experiences that help to create better medical students and to educate interested members about the exciting field of Emergency Medicine. The LSUHSC Emergency Medicine Interest Group (EMIG) is an organization whose mission is to provide both education and experience in the field of Emergency Medicine.

If you are considering Emergency Medicine as a possible career choice, or just want to gain some experience in the Emergency Room setting, then EMIG is the place to start.

Benefits of belonging to EMIG

  • Only EMIG members may sign up to volunteer at LSU Interim Hospital (University). EMIG provides your malpractice coverage.
  • Priority scheduling for skills lab workshops
    • Ultrasound
    • Splinting/Casting
    • IV
    • Suturing
  • Free food provided at lunch meetings with speakers presenting a variety of topics in Emergency Medicine
  • Custom EMIG T-shirt


Welcome to the LSU Emergency Department! Nowhere else in America can you find a more exciting place in which to experience emergency medicine. LSU – EMIG is proud to be able to allow its members the opportunity to volunteer in this unique environment. Please use the following guidelines and rules when volunteering at LSU Interim Hospital:
• Join EMIG/pay dues
• Read volunteer instructions and sign up for a timeslot with the following links:

Volunteering in the ER Instructions

Volunteer Schedule


President Lindsay Blanco lblan5@lsuhsc.edu
Executive Vice President Michael Clemmons mclemm@lsuhsc.edu
BLS Coordinator Joshua Harris jhar24@lsuhsc.edu
BLS Coordinator Joshua Larrazolo jlarra@lsuhsc.edu
BLS Coordinator Kelsey Walsdorf kmcgr1@lsuhsc.edu
VP of Community Affairs Anne Thomas atho34@lsuhsc.edu
Skills Lab Coordinator David Thompson dtho42@lsuhsc.edu
Skills Lab Coordinator Amelia Muhs amuhs@lsuhsc.edu
Skills Lab Coordinator Lucey Wright lwrig3@lsuhsc.edu
Volunteer Coordinator Jake Grodsky jgrod1@lsuhsc.edu
Secretary Mai Nguyen tngu46@lsuhsc.edu
Treasurer Robert Butera rbuter@lsuhsc.edu
SGA/EMRA Representative Danielle Olivier doliv6@lsuhsc.edu

Research Coordinator: Benjamin I. Lee, MPH (blee15@lsuhsc.edu)
Emergency Medicine Director of Research: Dr. Lisa Moreno-Walton (lwalto@lsuhsc.edu)
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Avegno (JAvegn@lsuhsc.edu)

Student Procedure Manual
o http://www.medschool.lsuhsc.edu/emig/Procedure%20Manual.htm
American College of Emergency Physicians
o http://www.acep.org/
Emergency Medicine Residency Association
o http://www.emra.org/

Comments are closed.