LSU Health New ORLEANS

# **DOM NEWS BLAST**

The LSU Department of Medicine Weekly Communication

The Winners of the Resident's Choice Awards:



Internal Medicine Resident of the Year - Dr. Charlie Woodall

Categorical Intern of the Year - Tie between <u>Dr. Mary Katherine Moore</u> and <u>Dr. Kristen Williams</u>







Preliminary Intern of the Year - Dr. Whitney Sternfels

EM/IM Resident of the Year -Tie between <u>Dr. Matthew Johnson</u> and <u>Dr. Keyur Patel</u>





Med/Peds Intern of the Year – Dr. Dan Ta

Fellow of the Year – <u>Dr. Tammy Do</u>, Nephrology Fellow





Clinic Faculty of the Year

Dr. Dexter Matrana, Allergy/Immunology & Primary Care

Hospitalist Faculty of the Year - Dr. Seth Vignes, Hospital Medicine







### **DOM NEWS BLAST**

### The LSU Department of Medicine Weekly Communication

And from Emergency Medicine, the following faculty and residents were selected for awards:

Academic Faculty of the Year

David Rayburn MD



Jeffrey St. Clair Memorial Clinical Faculty of the Year Award Bridgette Egan MD





SonoStar Award

John Nguyen MD



Clerkship Teaching Awards Josh Lara MD and Joshua DeBlieux MD









Social EM Champion Awards Kersti Bellardi DO and <u>Alexander Hua MD</u>

Intern of the Year

Gabrielle Williams MD





Outstanding Junior Resident Award

Benjamin Castin MD





Albert J. Lauro Award

Resident of the Year

Sancia Bredy MD



adley Award <u>Joshua DeBlieux MD</u>

Alex Woodbridge MD





# **DOM NEWS BLAST**

The LSU Department of Medicine Weekly Communication

<u>Dr. Matt Foy</u> (Baton Rouge) was recently appointed as a faculty committee member for the Nephrology Medical Knowledge Self-Assessment Program (MKSAP) in 2025-26.

<u>Drs. Katie O'Neal</u> (Baton Rouge) and <u>Victoria Burke</u> (Infectious Diseases) were recently appointed as faculty committee members for the Infectious Diseases MKSAP in 2025-26.





<u>Dr. Fred A. Lopez</u> (Infectious Diseases) was recently appointed as a Deputy Editor for the American College of Physicians MKSAP in 2025-26.

<u>Dr. Brooks Robey</u> (Nephrology) has been appointed the Region 4 ACOS/R&D representative for the national VA Field Research Advisory Committee (FRAC) for 2025-2028. The purpose of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Field Research Advisory Committee (FRAC) is to promote communication between ORD and investigators in the field, provide input on issues relevant to VA research including current operations, and participate in strategic planning.



<u>Dr. Meredith Clement</u> (Infectious Diseases), <u>Dr. Tonya Jagneaux</u> (Baton Rouge), <u>Dr. Catherine O'Neal</u> (Baton Rouge) and <u>Dr. Steve Lim</u> (Emergency Medicine) recently published in the journal AIDS Patient Care and STDs this paper that used focus groups with community advocates and clinicians to develop a model for identifying candidates for HIV pre-exposure prophylaxis using the electronic health record.

Manual Control of the states o







MDPI



<u>Dr. Rajasree "Pia" Chowdry</u> (Hematology-Oncology) recently published in *Cancers*, an article about quality of life in prostate cancer patients. The team evaluated the relationship between fatigue, quality of life and health outcomes in a cohort of over 6000 patients with prostate cancer.

Cancers



Anti-Fatigue Level Associated with Quality of Life for Prostate Cancer Patients: Results from the All of Us Research Program HeWLin<sup>40</sup>, Museu Manual, <sup>1</sup> Ju-Win Chil<sup>40</sup>, Ju-Hin Li<sup>40</sup>, <u>Rigner R Constr</u><sup>1</sup> and <u>Many Sectors</u> 1002