School of Medicine


Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship

The Electrophysiology Fellowship Program is a one-year ACGME-accredited fellowship for trainees who have completed a three-year accredited training program in Cardiovascular Diseases and are eligible to sit for the ABIM certification exams in Internal Medicine and Cardiovascular Diseases.

As a Fellow, you will be expected to:

  • Attend weekly EP and Case conferences.
  • Attend and give lectures for Cardiology Grand Rounds and Journal Club.
  • Attend monthly research conferences and present your projects.
  • Work with the Program Director to ensure publication of research data.
  • See patients in the University Medical Center New Orleans Subspecialty Clinic weekly. (Continuity clinic)
  • Interact with students and residents in patient care and teaching

Number of fellows in the one-year Interventional Cardiology Fellowship Program: One


Faculty & Staff



Jameel Ahmed,  MD

Program Director

Associate Professor


Cody Williams, MD
Associate Professor








How to Apply


We will be accepting applications for the 2026-2028 fellowship through the ERAS system.

You MUST be a U.S. Citizen, Permanent Resident on form I-551, or a J-1 Visa holder to apply to our program.

We require:

  • Current curriculum vitae
  • Three letters of recommendation, including one from current/former
    program director
  • Personal statement
  • ECFMG certificate necessary for foreign medical graduates
  • USMLE scores
  • US Citizen, permanent resident (Form I-551), or ECFMG sponsorship as a J-1 
    exchange visitor only. (you must be employable under one of these three conditions when applying)



LSUHSC New Orleans
Dept of Medicine, Section of Cardiology
2021 Perdido St, 5th Floor,  New Orleans LA 70112

University Medical Center

2000 Canal St,
New Orleans, LA 70115

Visit the site

Touro Infirmary 

1401 Foucher St,
New Orleans, LA 70115

Visit the site

Children's Hospital 

200 Henry Clay Ave, 
New Orleans, LA 70118

visit the site



Questions about our program may be directed to:    

paul lelorier, Program director   or   judy weber, program coordinator