LSU Health New Orleans

Departments & Centers | Contact | Donate

Administration Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Centers of Excellence
Critical Concepts in EM

2010 2:27:25 PM

Critical Concepts in EM 2011

Faculty Contact & Phone Tree


Krystan Hosking 
Assistant Business Manager
Phone: (504) 568-4624
Fax:     (504) 568-2127






The program has a dynamic and well-rounded EM faculty. All are board-certified in Emergency Medicine.  Four are also dual-boarded in internal medicine, two in pediatrics, and seven in hyperbaric medicine.  There is one physician/attorney on staff, three with doctorate degrees, and one with an MBA.  Our faculty offer diverse educational backgrounds ranging from toxicology, hyperbaric medicine, emergency ultrasound and sports medicine to critical care, health care administration and public health. The faculty of the Section of Emergency Medicine are unified in the common goal of developing their residents into leaders in their field. There are also part-time and clinical faculty who devote a great deal of time to the program and teaching the residents.


Emergency Medicine

Keith Van Meter, MD: Section Chief

David Beran, DO: Director of Emergency Services

James Aiken, MD, MHA: Associate Director of Emergency Services


EM Residency Director Team

Sal J. Suau, MD: Residency Program Director

Matthew Carlisle, MD, Pierre Detiege, MD and Jen Avegno, MD: Assitant Program Directors


EM Student Clerkship 

Jen Avegno, MD: Director of Medical Student Education



Addiction Medicine & Chronic Pain

Roy Ary, MD 


Critical Care

Peter DeBlieux, MD  Critical Care Medicine

Jairo Santanilla, MD  IM/EM, Critical Care Medicine


Disaster Medicine & EMS

James Aiken, MD, MHA Disaster Medicine

Edward Halton, MD Disaster Medicine

Sean Hardy, MD   Disaster Medicine


Diversity Division

Lisa Moreno, MD Director of  Division of Diversity


Hyperbaric Medicine

Paul G. Harch, MD: Director Hyperbaric Medicine


Infectious Diseases

Ellen Slaven, MD


Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Anna McFarlin, MD



Lisa Moreno, MD: Director of Resident Research



Matthew Carlisle, MD: Simulation Director



Tuckler Victor, MD Toxicology



Christine Butts, MD: Emergency Ultrasound Director

Beth Clement, MD: U/S Faculty

Scatt Mackey, DO: U/S Fellow


Undersea & Hyperbaric Medicine

Tracy LeGros, MD, PhD Fellowship Program Director

Heather Murphy, MD

Kevin Buford, MD


Clinical Faculty

Nicole Bergeron, MD

Michele Campisi, MD

Annelis DeWulf, MD

Erica Fisher, MD

Kathleen Jones, MD

Scott Mackey, DO

Anna McFarlin

Ujwal Meka, MD

Julie Slick, MD

Jeff St. Clair, MD

Theo Stafford, MD

Vanessa Piazza, MD