PREP Scholars Attend ABRCMS

Lisa M. Harrison-Bernard, PhD
Professor and Director, LSUHSC-New Orleans Postbaccalaureate Research Education Program (PREP) in Biomedical Sciences

The scholars in the second cohort of LSUHSC-NO Postbaccalaureate Research Education Program (PREP) in the Biomedical Sciences recently attended and presented research posters at the Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS) in Anaheim, CA.  The Scholars enter the PREP, funded by the National Institutes of Health, after completion of a bachelor’s degree in the biomedical sciences.

The PREP provides recent biomedical science post-baccalaureates hands-on exposure to medical research, enrollment in graduate courses, and GRE and skills workshops to develop scholarly potential to prepare for graduate school admissions, successful completion of the doctorate program, and future careers in biomedical research. The scholars conduct independent research with a mentor.   

Chelsea Callicoatte graduated from California State University Northridge with a bachelor's in cell and molecular biology. Her research is being performed in the laboratory of Dr. Scott Edwards in the department of physiology. 

Shana Littleton graduated from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with a bachelor's in molecular and cellular biology. Her research is being performed in the department of pharmacology under the guidance of Dr. Martin Ronis. 

Diego Vargas graduated from the University of Michigan with a bachelor's in biomedical engineering. He is performing physiological research with Dr. Jason Gardner.   

Anita Waye graduated from the University of Illinois at Chicago with a bachelor's in biological sciences.  Her research is being performed in the laboratory of Dr. Angela Amedee in the department of microbiology, immunology, and parasitology.

The scholars have recently completed the GRE and are applying to graduate programs across the United States. The yearlong program ends on May 31, 2020. The PREP is executed by Drs. Lisa M. Harrison-Bernard, Allison C. Augustus-Wallace, Maureen Basha, and Fern Tsien.  Please contact if you would like more information about the program.

















Left to right: Ms. Waye, Ms. Callicoatte, Dr. Tsien, Ms. Littleton, and Mr. Vargas at the ABRCMS.