## POLICY ON COMMITTEES LSUHSC SCHOOL OF MEDICINE - NEW ORLEANS (Approved by the Dean, Faculty Assembly, and Administrative Council)

1. Committee assignments are the responsibility of the Dean in consultation with representatives of the Faculty Assembly.

2. Committees may be charged with making recommendations or empowered to make decisions within the scope of their stated missions. The Dean may override decisions that are not in the best interest of the school.

3. The School of Medicine has both standing committees and ad hoc committees or task forces; the latter are appointed by the Dean for specific projects or current issues.

4. The School of Medicine has two general types of standing committees, those with member composition determined by specific role within the school or university and those with rotating volunteer committee members with finite terms of appointment. All committees will be led by a chairperson and those with critical, time-sensitive responsibilities will have a vice-chairperson. 5. Terms of appointment for committees with rotating membership are generally three years; reappointment to a committee assignment is possible.

6. Faculty committee composition is revised annually. There are three mechanisms for identifying possible committee members: self-nomination; nomination by department head; and solicitation through the Faculty Assembly.

7. Committee composition is designed to reflect the diversity of faculty, staff, and learner community of the School of Medicine, as well as the geographical distribution of the faculty. Faculty from regional campuses are strongly encouraged to serve on standing committees.

8. At least one elected Delegate of the Faculty Assembly is assigned to each of the rotating standing committees. An effort will also be made to include an elected Delegate of the Faculty Assembly on each ad hoc committee of the School of Medicine. Faculty Assembly will also be represented on all formal search committees formed by the Dean.

9. Assistant and Associate Deans may serve in an ex officio capacity on committees relevant to their administrative responsibilities.

10. Medical students and house officers are appointed to committees as appropriate.

11. All standing School of Medicine committees should develop a mission statement that guides their activities.

12. The Dean or the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs may convene the committee chairs to identify specific committee charges and/or goals and objectives that relate to the School of Medicine Strategic Plan or other campus initiatives.