As one of the largest ophthalmology residencies in the United States, the LSU ophthalmology residency has many strengths including exposure to a wide variety and severity of ophthalmic pathology, multiple subspecialists in all fields providing varying approaches to diagnosis and treatment and an ideal combination of  supervision and autonomy. Residents obtain the training and expertise to be skilled in the diagnosis and treatment of ophthalmic diseases upon graduation, whether or not they chose to continue onto fellowship training.

Program Director: Maria Reinoso, MD
Associate Program Director: Christine Connolly, MD

Clinical Teaching Faculty who residents work directly with for extended amounts of time:

Cataract and Comprehensive

  • Bruce Barron, MD (UMCNO)
  • Maria Bernal, MD (LSUHCN, UMCNO)
  • Lucy Bourne, MD (OLOL)
  • Christine Connolly, MD (LSUHCN, OLOA, UMCNO)
  • Victor Carriere, MD (NOLA VA)
  • Josh Groetsch, MD (Chabert)
  • Fred Hall, MD (UHC)
  • Daniel Kurica, MD (OLOL)
  • Patrick Keating, MD (UHC)
  • Ricardo Leoni II, MD (UHC)
  • Rebecca Metzinger, MD (VA)
  • Virgil Murray, MD (UHC)
  • An Nguyen, MD (OLOA)
  • Abram Dulaney Tipton IV, MD (Chabert)
  • Jayne S. Weiss, MD (LSUHCN, OLOA, OLOL, UMCNO, UHC)
  • Jeremy Wood, MD (OLOL)


  • Bruce Barron, MD (UMCNO)
  • Maria Bernal, MD (LSUHCN, UMCNO)
  • Tom Heigle, MD (OLOL)
  • Ginny Kullman, MD (Chabert, Ochsner)
  • Ricardo Leoni II, MD (UHC)
  • Rebecca Metzinger, MD (NOLA VA)
  • Pulin Shah, MD (Ochsner)
  • Charles Thompson, MD (UHC)
  • Jayne S. Weiss, MD (LSUHCN, OLOA, OLOL, UMCNO, UHC)


  • Lena Al-Dujaili, MD (LSUHCN, UMCNO)
  • Katherine Loftfield, MD (Ochsner)
  • Jonathan Nussdorf, MD (Ochsner)



  • Kevin Kirchner, MD (LSUHCN, OLOL, OLOA)
  • Andrew Lawton, MD (Ochsner)

Ocular Pathology

  • Bruce Barron, MD (LSU)
  • Sonya Bamba, MD (Cook County, Chicago)
  • Lucy Borne, MD (LSU)
  • Jayne S. Weiss, MD (LSU)

Ocular Oncology

  • Adham Al Hariri, MD (Chabert)
  • Priya Sahu, MD (Ochsner)

Oculofacial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

  • Adham Al Hariri, MD (Chabert)
  • Tommy Casanova Jr., MD (UHC)
  • Kevin Kirchner, MD (LSUHCN, OLOL, OLOA)
  • Priya Sahu, MD (Ochsner)
  • Michael Worley, MD (UMCNO, OLOL)

Optometry, Contact Lenses and Low Vision

  • Nicole Abrashoff (NOLA VA)
  • Boudreaux, OD (Ochsner)
  • Steve Gill, OD (NOLA VA)
  • Shelly Huff, OD (Ochsner)

Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus

  • George S. Ellis, Jr., MD (NOLA Children’s)
  • H. Sprague Eustis, MD (NOLA Children’s, Ochsner)
  • Alejandro Leon, MD (NOLA Children’s)

Refractive Surgery

  • Rebecca Metzinger, MD (NOLA VA)
  • Pulin Shah, MD (Ochsner)
  • Jayne S. Weiss, MD (LSUHCN, OLOA, OLOL, UMCNO)


  • Maria Bernal, MD (LSUHCN)

Vitreoretinal Surgery

  • Lawrence Arend, MD (Ochsner)
  • Joseph Benevento, MD (Chabert, Ochsner)
  • Robert Blem, MD (UHC)
  • James Diamond, MD (NOLA VA)
  • Mallika Doss (UMCNO, LSUHCN, OLOA, OLOL)
  • Jamie Hatcher, MD (OLOL)
  • Arly Jaramillo, MD (NOLA VA)
  • D. Anthony Mazzulla, MD (Chabert, Ochsner)
  • Aravinda Rao, MD  (UMCNO and OLOL)
  • Maria Reinoso, MD (LSUHCN, OLOA and UMCNO)