Current Agenda

Next Meeting:

January 5, 2023



Time and Place:

Zoom Conference Call


Faculty Assembly wants to hear from you

Click here to suggest agenda items

Thinking about promotion?
Need temporary funding to support your research?
Want to read the latest SOM newsletter - The Pulse?

2022-2023 Faculty Assembly President Message

Welcome to the School of Medicine (SOM) Faculty Assembly website! The Assembly is composed of 38 Delegates that represent SOM Clinical and Basic Science faculty and who were elected by SOM faculty. The Delegates serve the SOM faculty by representing them as a collective voice to both the Administration of the SOM and the entire LSU Health Sciences Center (LSUHSC). To accomplish this purpose, the Assembly has monthly scheduled meetings and works closely with the Dean of the School of Medicine. Furthermore, the Assembly elects 8 Senators to represent the SOM faculty and Assembly on the Faculty Senate of the LSUHSC.


Faculty Assembly meetings are open to all faculty of the SOM and approved Minutes are posted on this website. SOM Faculty are encouraged to participate in Assembly activities by attending meetings and/or identifying issues of interest. This can be done by attending a meeting in person, via a Delegate, or the link on the right-hand side of this website page. The list of Assembly Delegates can be found on this website under the "Roster" tab.


This year, the Faculty Assembly anticipates working on a number of initiatives, including:


  1. Medical Education Building (MEB) Renovation project updates
  2. The process of moving faculty from MEB to Clinical Science Research Building (CSRB)
  3. Finding Safe access to Louisiana Cancer Research Center (LCRC) from Perdido and Gravier streets
  4. Finally, Improving Communication and Collaboration through Departments and addressing issues impacting basic science and clinical faculty that arise throughout the year


Will continue with the tradition of giving Faculty Assembly Awards in which the Dean of the School of Medicine and the Faculty Assembly recognize SOM faculty. These awards include for Outstanding Service to the Institution, Outstanding Service to the Community, Outstanding Mentor, Outstanding Accomplishment by a Junior Faculty Member and Outstanding Service in Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and anti-discrimination efforts.  Nominations for these awards are solicited during the spring semester each year.

The Delegates of the Faculty Assembly are proud to serve the SOM faculty as their voice to the administration and welcome participation by all SOM faculty members. We hope to hear from you about your ideas. At this time, Assembly meetings are being held on first Thursday of the month via Zoom. If you would like to attend an Assembly meeting, please contact us at for information.


Please continue to visit this webpage for updates on the Assembly's work. We look forward to working with the SOM faculty!


Suresh K. Alahari, PhD; FAAS; FASCB

Faculty Assembly President