Copping Award

Committee Chairmen

2013 1:25:48 PM

Fred Lopez, MD


Copping Awards

Co Committee Chairmen

2014 1:06:28 PM

Margaret  Bishop-Baier, MD


2013 1:23:57 PM

Our Basic Scientist are the Best!


2013 1:23:08 PM

Our Basic Scientist are the Best!

Allen A. Copping

Excellence in Teaching Awards

LSUHSC School of Medicine – New Orleans

Established in 1997, the Allen A. Copping Excellence in Teaching Awards represent the preeminent recognition given to our faculty for teaching each year. Department heads as well as student and resident leaders coordinate the faculty nominations in both the basic sciences and clinical sciences. A School of Medicine standing committee composed of faculty, administrators, students from all classes, and house officers reviews the nominating letters, curriculum vitas, and in the case of student or house officer nominations, a support letter from the department. The awards are presented during the School of Medicine precommencement exercises.


2017 Winners

Clinical Science

Engel, Lee

Lee Engel, MD

Associate Professor of Medicine


Basic Science


Guenevere Rae, PhD

Assistant Professor - Research

Cell Biology and Anatomy


To Review Previous Winners of the Award (Click Here)


"Excellence is the unlimited ability to improve the quality of what you have to offer.”

LSU School of Medicine offers the Best in Basic Science and Healthcare