School of Medicine

Department of Family Medicine


Approved Experience Sites






Universidade Federal Do Espirito Santo

The Federal University of Espírito Santo (Ufes) is an autonomous institution linked to the Ministry of Education (MEC) with didactic-scientific, administrative and financial and patrimonial management autonomy, and which operates based on the principle of inseparability  between teaching, research and extension, with a vocation to act in all areas of knowledge.

Founded on May 5, 1954, Ufes has four university campuses - in Goiabeiras and Maruípe, Vitória;  and in the municipalities of Alegre, in the south of the state;  and São Mateus, in the north of Espírito Santo - with a total territorial area of ​​13.8 million square meters.  Its global physical infrastructure is 302,500 square meters of built area.



Universidad Francisco Marroquín

Francisco Marroquín University (UFM) is a private, secular university in Guatemala City, Guatemala. Its mission is to teach and disseminate the ethical, legal, and overall economic principles of a society of free and responsible persons.

It was founded in 1971 by Manuel F. Ayau, known as Muso. Its namesake is Francisco Marroquín, an early bishop of Guatamala and translator of Central American languages.



Healing Hands Global, Incorporated

This rotation continues to evolve and will be updated shortly. A graduate of
the Bogalusa Family Medicine Residency Program has been stationed in Honduras full
time and looks forward to hosting participants in rural Honduras.



Universidad Nacional de San Antonio Abad del Cusco

The National University of Saint Anthony the Abad in Cuzco (UNSAAC) is a public university in Cusco, Peru and one of the oldest in the country. Its foundation was first proposed on March 1, 1692, at the urging and support of Pope Innocent XII. The document in which Pope Innocent XII sponsored the founding of the university was signed in Madrid, Spain by King Charles II  on June 1, 1692, thus becoming Cusco's principal and oldest university. The university was authorized to confer the bachelors, licentiate, masters, and doctorate degrees.

It currently has 24 faculties with 37 professorial chairs and 29 academic departments.

Chile Flag

Especialidad Médica en Medicina Familiar

Participants spend two weeks working with local Family Medicine faculty and residents based out of Valparaiso, Chile. They rotate through various sites in the cityand in more rural surrounding regions, and they also participate in educational didactics with the Department of Family Medicine. This journey also features Spanish immersion not only through professional interactions but also in staying with a host family from the local program.