School of Medicine

The Pulse

Faculty Assembly Report

Stefany Primeaux, M.D.

Faculty Assembly President 2020-2021

The August Faculty Assembly meeting was held virtually. We began this month's meeting by thanking Dr. Sanjay Kamboj for his service as Faculty Assembly President (2019-2020) and welcoming our new clinical science and basic science delegates. We are looking forward to having our newest delegates join us for the next three years. An important aspect of this month's meeting was to elect new officers. Dr. Pinki Prasad was elected President-Elect and Mr. Jessie Guidry was elected Secretary-Treasurer.  

The Assembly was updated on the impact of COVID-19 on the campus, including: 

  • In keeping with state and local regulations and CDC guidelines on gatherings and social distancing, we will continue to wear masks, limit the size of gatherings and hold virtual meetings, seminars and educational activities. Check out the new FAQs section on the LSUHSC-NO Coronavirus website.
  • The LSU Healthcare Network has established a Campus Health Clinic for the primary care needs of our LSUHSC-NO faculty, staff and students. Additionally, staff at the Clinic will be able to answer COVID-related questions. The number to make an appointment or to ask COVID-related questions is 504-412-1995. The clinic is located on the 5th floor of the Campus Multispecialty Clinic at 478 South Johnson Street, Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. 
  • The SOM Department of Psychiatry has established a COVID Hotline for our LSUHSC-NO community. The Hotline is answered seven days/week between 8:00 a.m. -8:00 p.m. @ 504-228-6196.
  • Construction on campus continues to proceed at this time.