LSU Health New Orleans

Departments & Centers | Contact | Donate

Administration Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Centers of Excellence
Learning Center     Graduate     Undergraduate     CME                  

Office of Medical Education
2020 Gravier Street
Suite 602
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: 504-568-4006
Fax: 504-599-1453

Office of Medical Education

Russell C. Klein M.D. ('59) Center for Advanced Practice

The Russell C. Klein M.D. ('59) Center for Advanced Practice provides a large array of both high fidelity and low fidelity simulation equipment to support innovative, multidisciplinary, and inter-professional education of healthcare students and professionals living in Louisiana and the Gulf Coast region. The Center for Advanced Practice houses multiple simulation suites, state-of-the-art audio-visual technology, and an extraordinary 32-station cadaveric laboratory. Education and training activities engage learners in active, competency-based, hands-on learning and provide explicit opportunities for reflective and deliberate practice and feedback. The Center is supported by faculty members and staff who have specific expertise in teaching/learning effectiveness, curriculum and instructional design, program evaluation, and performance-based assessment. The Center for Advanced Practice is a natural laboratory for scholarly work in teaching, learning, assessment, and a vehicle for attracting and retaining outstanding medical educators at LSUHSC-NO.


Center for Advanced Practice Ribbon Cutting
DHH Secretary Alan Levine, Dr. Larry Hollier (‘68) Chancellor of the LSU Health Sciences Center-New Orleans, Dr. Steve Nelson Dean of the LSU School of Medicine, Dr. Fred Cerise (‘88) LSU System Vice President for Health Care and Medical Education, Dr. Lee J. Monlezun (‘69) President of the LSU Medical Alumni Association, Dr. Russell Klein (’59) Associate Dean of Alumni Affairs and Dr. Charles Hilton (’76) Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at the Dedication Ceremony of the Center for Advanced Practice.

Following the resounding success of the Isidore Cohn, Jr, M.D. Student Learning Center, the LSU School of Medicine and the LSU Medical Alumni Association began to see the need for a facility to train residents, faculty, and practicing physicians. Together, they began planning what is now known as the Russell C. Klein M.D. ('59) Center for Advanced Practice.

As was done for the Isidore Cohn, Jr., MD Student Learning Center, the Medical Alumni Association embarked on a multi-million dollar fundraising campaign to finance the Center for Advanced Practice. Under the direction of Dr. Russell Klein, the Medical Alumni Association constructed the Center in the Lions Building within the LSUHSC downtown campus. In addition to the Center for Advanced Practice, the Medical Alumni Association also constructed new office space for the LSU School of Medicine Dean's Office.

The Russell C. Klein M.D. ('59) Center for Advanced Practice opened in January 2008.  This state-of-the-art Center occupies approximately 10,000 square feet of space on the 5th floor of the Lions Building. It contains 2 multimedia conference rooms, 3 simulation classrooms, a simulation operating room, and a 32-station minimally invasive cadaveric surgery demonstration classroom.

The LSU School of Medicine wishes to thank Dr. Russell Klein for his numerous years of dedication to the School and his leadership of the LSU Medical Alumni Association. The LSU School of Medicine also wishes to thank all of the donors who have helped to make the Center for Advanced Practice a reality.

Major Donors

  • Kenneth N. Adatto, MD
  • The Almar Foundation
  • Mary Lou Applewhite, MD
  • AT&T Louisiana
  • Robert C. Batson, MD
  • Gerald S. Berenson, MD
  • Margaret W. Bridwell, MD
  • T. Neil Carmena, MD
  • Dr. and Mrs. Isidore Cohn, Jr.
  • Committee of 100 - Champions of Excellence
  • Pleasant W. Davidson III, MD
  • Entergy Louisiana
  • Marie De Renville-Franicevie Foundation
  • The Giardina Family Foundation
  • Joseph D. Guillory, Jr. MD
  • Marshall D. Harrison, MD
  • Dr. and Mrs. Larry H Hollier
  • Brian Jakes, Sr.
  • Dr. and Mrs. Russell Klein
  • Bernard and Marie Lahasky Foundation
  • Larsen-Magurean Trust
  • Dr. and Mrs. James J. Leonard
  • LSU Health Sciences Center Foundation
  • LSU Medical Alumni Board of Directors
  • Lupin Family Foundation
  • Florence Mauboules Charitable Trust
  • Robert T. Mazurek, MD
  • Memorial Medical Center Medical Staff
  • Dr. and Mrs. Lee J. Monlezun
  • Carlo A. Musso, MD
  • Dr. and Mrs. Steve Nelson
  • Peoples Health Network
  • Dr. and Mrs. Earl Rozas
  • Rozas-Ward Architects, A.I.A
  • Simulab Corporation
  • TAP Pharmaceuticals Inc.
  • Keith W. VanMeter, MD

The LSU School of Medicine would like to extend its thanks to all other alumni, faculty, and friends whose contributions made the construction of the Russell Klein, MD Center for Advanced Practice possible.