Please join us in welcoming the following faculty to the Department of Surgery:

Shawn A. McKinney, MD MPH 
Professor of Clinical Surgery
Division of Surgical Oncology, Breast Oncology
Director of Breast Services, University Medical Center



Elyse Bevier-Rawls, MD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Surgery
Division of Colorectal Surgery

Bevier Rawls


Alison A. Smith, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Surgery
Division of Trauma/Critical Care Surgery

Dr Jessica Zagory_07132020_ND_5053


Jessica A. Zagory, MD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Surgery
Division of Pediatric Surgery

  Dr Jessica Zagory_07132020_ND_5053         





Bariatric Surgery

Michael Cook, MD
  - Director of Bariatric Surgery, UMC

Vance Albaugh, MD

James Leithead, MD

Philip Schauer, MD


Cardiothoracic Surgery

Mohamad Allam, MD

Eugene Kukuy, MD

Mitchell Lirtzman, MD

Victor "Teddy" Tedesco, MD

Vicente Valero, MD

Michael Weaver, MD


Colon & Rectal Surgery

Guy Orangio, MD
     - Division Chief and Fellowship Program Director

Louis Barfield, MD

Elyse Bevier-Rawls, MD

Matthew Boudreaux, MD

Richard Byrd, MD

Kurt Davis, MD

Kelly Finan, MD

Nathan Hite, MD

Michael Horaist, MD

Aaron Klinger, MD


General Surgery

John Morrison Jr, MD
     - Division Chief & Vice Chair of Education

Vance Albaugh, MD

Charles Chappuis Jr, MD
     - Site Director University Health Center, Lafayette

Phillip Gachassin, MD
     - Site Director Lafayette General Medical Center, Lafayette

Samuel Harelson, MD

Ian Hodgdon, MD

James "Buddy" Leithead, MD

John Paige, MD

V. Keith Rhynes, MD
     - Site Director Our Lady of the Lake, Baton Rouge

Philip Schauer, MD
     - Bariatric Surgery, Fellowship Program Director

John Whitaker, MD


Pediatric Cardiothoracic Surgery

Frank Pigula, MD
     - Divison Chief

Jamie Dorotan, MD

Timothy Pettitt, MD


Pediatric General Surgery

Fabienne Gray, MD

Jessica Zagory, MD


Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery

Hugo St. Hilaire, MD, DDS
     - Division Chief

Kelly Babineaux, MD

Jonathan Boraski, MD

Charles Dupin, MD
     - Residency and Fellowship Program Director

Adam Hauch, MD

Frank Lau, MD

Mohamad Masoumy, MD, MS

Hamid Massiha, MD

Mark Stalder, MD

Sharon Stanley, MD

Charles "Ty" Tuggle, MD

Daniel Womac, MD


Surgical Oncology

Mary Maluccio, MD
     - Division Chief, Director, Neuroendocrine Tumor Program

Peter Bostick, MD

J. Phillip Boudreaux, MD

Jason Breaux, MD

Henry Kaufman IV, MD

John Lyons, MD 

Shawn McKinney, MD, MPH
     - Director of Breast Services, University Medical Center

Patrick McLaren, MD

John H. Stewart IV, MD, MBA
     - Director, Louisiana State University, New Orleans - Louisiana Children's Medical Center Cancer Center

Ramcharan Thiagarajan, MD

J. Chris Watson, MD


Trauma / Critical Care Surgery, Burn Surgery

John Hunt, MD, MPH
     - Division Chief, Trauma Director UMC, Fellowship Program Director

Jeffrey Carter, MD
     - Burn Director, UMC

Patrick Greiffenstein, MD
     - Student Clerkship Director

Alan Marr, MD
     - Vice Chair of Informatics

Herbert Phelan, MD, MSCS
     - Vice Chair of Surgical Research

Jonathan Schoen, MD

Alison A. Smith, MD, PhD

Lance Stuke, MD, MPH 
     - General Surgery Residency Program Director


Vascular Surgery

Malachi Sheahan III, MD
     - Division Chief, Residency and Fellowship Program Director

Tina Barcelona, RN

Robert Batson, MD
     - Department Head

Estela Brooke, MD

Amit Chawla, MD
     - Chief of Vascular Surgery, VA Medical Center

Melissa Donovan, MD

Jonathan Gisclair, DPM

Larry Hollier, MD

Tapash Palit, MD

William Risher, MD

Claudie Sheahan, MD

Bruce Torrance III, MD
     - Chief Academic Officer, West Jefferson Medical Center 

Marie Unruh, MD

Faculty Members

Stanley, Sharon, MD


Gratis Appointments


Adhvaryu, Dhaval, MD
Ahmad, Rasheed, MD
Albaugh, Vance, MD
Al-Dahir, Sara, PharmD, BCPS
Allen, Robert, MD
Barfield, Louis, MD
Beck, David, MD
Bellfi, Lillian, PharmD
Bentley, Karalyn, MD
Berry, Buford, MD
Black, Elliott, MD
Boedefeld, William, MD
Bolton, John, MD
Bostick, Peter, MD
Boudreaux, Benjamin, MD
Brandt, Mary, MD
Brashear, Jarret, MD
Breaux, Edgar, MD
Brevard, Sidney, MD
Bringaze, Walter, MD
Buell, Joseph, MD
Byrd, Richard, MD
Campeau, Lisa, MD
Caspi, Joseph, MD
Cassidy, Emily, MD
Cayton, Stewart, MD
Chaffin, Abigail, MD
Champagne, Kenneth, MD
Chao, Lynn, MD
Chiasson, Edward, MD
Christakis, Ares, MD
Cobb, Danielle, MD
Conners, Michael, MD
Contreary, Kelvin, MD
Corne, Jr., Louis, MD
Countryman, David, MD
Craighead, Claude, MD
Craven, James, MD
Cueto, Jorge, MD
Cummiskey, Robert, MD
Cusimano, Luke, MD
Cuntz, Cecilia, MD
Cusimano, Luke, MD
Daugherty, R. Scott, MD 
Dauterive, Edward, MD 
Davis, Jr., P. Michael, MD
Dean, John, MD
Deboisblanc, Rene, MD
Delatte, Stephen, MD
Dellacroce, Frank, MD
Depp, David, MD
Desselle, Wesley, MD
Dieffenbach, Kenneth, MD
DiVincenti, Frank, MD
Doucet, Lucius, MD
Dreschnack, Paul, MD
Duchesne, Juan, MD
Duke, Marquinn, MD
Dupont, Joseph, MD
Everson, Charles, MD
Fahr, Michael, MD
Field, Richard, MD
Finan, Kelly, MD
Fingerhut, Abe, MD
Ford, Edward, MD
Foti, C., MD
Freel, Andrew, MD
Frusha, John, MD
Garcelon, James, MD
George, Eric, MD
Ghere, Mary, MD
Glass, Cynthia, MD
Gordon, Stephen, MD
Griffin, Joseph, MD
Gruenwald, Charles, MD
Gruner, Jeffrey, MD
Guidry, Chrissy, MD
Guidry, London, MD
Guste, John, MD                                               
Gwin, Taylor, MD
Hanemann, Michael, MD
Hankins, Adam, MD
Hansbrough, Faith, MD
Hargroder, Andrew, MD
Harris, Charles, MD
Harrison, Lynn, MD
Hastings, Laurel, MD
Hastings, Paul, MD
Hausmann, Mark, MD
Heck, Jr., Herman MD
Helm, Edward G., MD         
Hicks, Terry, MD
Hill Jr., Charles B. MD
Hirsch, Alec, MD
Hogan, M'liss, MD
Ingram, James, MD
Irfan, Wajeeh, MD
Jacome, Tomas, MD
Jansen, David, MD
Jastram, Charles, PharmD


Jhunjhunwala, Jay, MD
Kaplan, Jonathan, MD
Karlin, Richard, MD
Khan, Azeem, MD
Khoobehi, Kamran, MD
Killackey, Mary, MD
King, Brett, MD
Kline, Albert, MD
Kober, Ronald, MD
Kopari, Nicole, MD
Kukuy, Eugene, MD
Kuy, Sreyram, MD
Laborde, Kenneth, MD
Landreneau, Rodney, MD
Lagraize, Christopher, MD
LeBlanc, Karl, MD
Leithead, James, MD
Leonovicz, Douglas, MD
Lewis, Richard, MD
Lindsey, John, MD
Littleton, Jeffery, MD
Loe, William, MD
Lopoo, John, MD
Lyons, John M, MD
Mann, Jr., Willard K, DDS, MD
Martin, Elizabeth, PhD
Martinez, Benjamin, MD
Massiha, Hamid, MD
McCalla, Thomas, MD
McCanless, Christopher, MD
McGee, Jennifer, MD
McGrew, Patrick, MD
McGuiness, Clifton, MD
McKinnon, William, MD
McNeil, James, MD
Meade, Peter, MD
Meyer, Carol, MD
Miller, Weston, MD
Mizgala, Cynthia, MD
Moore, Rachel, MD
Moses, Michael, MD
Moustoukas, Nick, MD
Mundinger, Gerhard, MD
Myers, Melvil, MD
Neumaster, Terry, MD
Newton, Baron, MD
Norwood, Scott, MD
O'Leary, James, MD
Olinde, Andrew, MD
Pappas, Michael, MD
Pappas, Nicholas, MD
Paramesh, Anil, MD
Rau, Jeffrey Frederick, MD
Rhynes, Vernon, MD
Rigby, Carl, MD
Robichaux, Wayne, MD
Rodriguez, Jaime, MD
Sabbaghian, Bahman, MD
Saggi, Bob, MD
Sam, Albert, MD
Sanchez, Erick, MD
Saracino, Dino, MD
Sayegh, Salem, MD
Scharf, Peter, MD
Schauer, Philip, MD
Schmidt, Frank, MD
Schellack, Jon V., MD
Schroll, Rebecca, MD
Schwartzberg, Glen, MD
Seale, Arnold, MD
Scott, Floyd, MD
Sea, Stephanie, MD
Seal, Arnold, MD
Sheely, Carlton, MD
Skill, Nicholas, PhD
Slakey, Douglas, MD
Smith, James, MD
Solomon, Brian, MD
Stafford, Shawn, MD
Stephens, James, MD
Suleman, Mohammed, MD
Taghavi, Sharven, MD
Tandon, Ravi, MD
Theriot, Amanda, RN
Theunissen, Taylor, MD
Thomas, Charles, MD
Thomas, Mack, MD
Thomas, Michael, MD
Thurston, Robert, MD
Tran, Victor, MD
Uddo, Joseph, MD
Upp, J., MD
Valerie, Evans, MD
Valero, Vicente, MD
Vanderlan, Wesley, MD
Wade, James, MD
Walters, Jules, MD
Weaver, Michael, MD
Weaver, Marvin, MD
Webb, Watts. MD
Weiler, Jonathan, MD
Weiss, Sean, MD
Williams, Charlie, MD
Williams, John, MD
Wise, Matthew, MD
Woltering, Eugene, MD
Wood, James H., MD
Yu, David, MD
Zampell, Jamie, MD